Thursday Blog 31.5.12

Any society that does not admits its lacking; its flaws can never change. This is one of the biggest flaws of India, and I believe of lots of other countries too. As I know not much of them I can only talk about my own country, my own surrounding.

By the time I was a teenager I have realized that I am not a blind follower of anything, I had blind faith on only one thing, blood relations that too gave me the lesson of my life; that nothing but God can be trusted blindly. The tragedy was the lesson was learnt too late.

I belong to a family of old values, things I myself appreciate a lot but still I don’t think the values should be followed blindly. They are blessing in case of good families, good surroundings and worst curse in case of families like mine.

Now, if you are a good parent why will you expect your child to follow, obey you blindly? You will set examples, share your views, in the childhood teach him, in teenage guide him, in youth discuss with him and let him follow his own mind. You don’t own him; you gave birth for two reasons, one for the joy of parenthood and the second to keep your name alive when you are dead.

The same things apply more or less to teachers too, but teachers may have to be a little strict because they have to handle all types of children together, and as they come from different backgrounds too much leniency may result in harming the good pupils.

Indians on the other hand order to blindly follow parents, teachers just because they are parents or teachers. Now, that’s alright only up to the age when you need to be guided, it’s better to follow the orders of others before you realize what path, life is. Even there is a big “May be”. Thousands of under-age girls are forced to marry (read walk into their pyre) every year because of this “obedience”. Thousands of young boys and girls end up as child workers because of this “obedience”.

So may be, obedience is good but not blind obedience.

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.

