Thursday Blog 7.4.16

Sometimes we do things on impulse and after that wonder if we did the right thing or just a wicked thing!

It was sheer impulse when I saw that falcon on the wall with a pigeon in its claws, honestly, I now think that it was already dead but then I thought it was alive so I scared the falcon away. The pigeon dropped out of sight.

That poor bird tried to retrieve his prey for an hour or so, a group of seven sisters prevented him.

I had my lunch an hour later calling myself all sorts of names! After all, that poor bird was about to eat his very well earned meal! Heaven only knows if he will retrieve it or some other animal will eat it. There are lot of dogs and cats around here.

He came back twice or thrice, I can still hear a falcon outside calling out and I am pretty sure that I will send the rest of the day calling myself names.

Self-righteousness or righteousness- their border is so thin that it is tough to distinguish them clearly! That is why I prefer not to judge others unless of course they are causing others harm visibly, especially those I deem innocent for any other reason but directly eating I guess.

Now that pigeon was innocent, so was the falcon I was the self-righteous mean spirit in the case I know. Had I picked up and pelted a stone at that falcon or done something to harm him then I might have merrily branded myself as a witch.

All I can say as an alibi is it was instinctive, I could not let him “kill” that pigeon a few feet away from my nose.

When I look around and observe these people who are mostly self righteous but firmly believe that they are righteous I wonder what if they too one day come to know how mean spirited their actions were! What if that realization came after causing irreparable harms to innocents and thus placing themselves in the seat of guilty souls about to be judged?

Will they curse themselves or give excuses? Most probably the latter in most of the cases, because self-righteousness often makes people blind, they become so egoistical that they start to believe in their own judgments blindly. Often giving rigid excuses in garb of reasons or actual logic.

2 comments

  1. Our feelings are often stronger than our reasonings. We don’t like to see suffering, if we are good people. But reason should tell us, that the falcon did no wrong. It is his nature to hunt. Pigeons have no more right to live than we have. We have a right to defend ourself. The pigeon can only save its life by being vigilant. We too have to be for ever vigilant not to fall prey to human predators.

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.

