Thursday Blog 30.6.16

Ever since I shifted to Kolkata I have felt the need of one thing, the lack of sensible shops in residential areas. Honestly, even if you have a whole market near your house, as we have in Garia houses or any other houses of Kolkata where we have lived, excluding this one each and every one had good sized to huge sized market near them, in walking distance and dozens of shop starting almost from the gates of the houses! Still, when it came to sensible shops there are none. For example, when I went out of my Burdwan house, a nondescript town in comparison to Kolkata there was a shop a few meters away, that shop had everything a household may need, other than bread, milk, vegetables and eggs.

They had needles to petty medicines like dispirin in their stock; formally it was called a grocery shop. Now comes Kolkata shops,

‘Do you have a needle and hook, thread?”

“It’s a grocery shop! We keep only groceries and some stationary things… “

“Do you know where to find some thread and needle? I desperately need it!”

“No….”

“Can you get some for me I will buy, I can pay you the price in advance if you want…”

‘No… my supplier does not sells these things….”

But after trying to get a bank account and after that trying to create a useful paypal account I have realized why Kolkata is full of unemployed youth who don’t try to open some “Sensible” shops in Kolkata, most probably they will grow old and die before getting the license, unless of course they have “connections’ or “bribes”.

That again will be the first step in the pyramid of making living in India.
[The grumbling will continue next week]

thursday blog logo

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.

